Your  Firearms Academy

Concealed Carry, Personal Defense, Duty & Off Duty Qualification, Armed Guard

Add A Gun To Your Concealed Carry Permit

Add A Gun To A Concealed Carry Permit

Cost: $40

Nice shot is authorized by a variety of Law Enforcement agencies to perform the firearm(s) qualification for Concealed Carry Permits.

Scheduling:

We regularly offer qualification times throughout the week. It may also be accomplished during a CCW Course, a CCWR Course, or Essential Private Instruction.

Essential Instruction

 

Essential Instruction

range-crop

*By Appointment Only

  Two Students May Attend

One-Two Hours Training $150

Range Fees Waived

Targets Provided

Open Rental Inventory

Acquisition Consulting

Personal Firearm Focus

+Ammunition varies by caliber and amount.

Hearing Protection

 

Contact Your Trainer

Available Instructors

(Please Contact Directly)

 

Michael Rynearson

 530-524-3288

 

Laurie Forni

 530-391-3465

Andrew Hackett

 530-736-7634

 

 

We want your first firearm experience to be a positive and friendly one in a fun, safe environment. This training session can be set to accommodate your schedule. A certified instructor will design the course around the needs of one or two students in order to understand the safe use of various types of firearms and select one that will best serve you. Private Instruction can also include any of the intermediate and advanced skills offered by our training facility.

 

Safety

Ammunition, ballistics, choices.

Fitting a firearm to you rather than you to a firearm.

Mechanical functions of firearms.

Biomechanics of shooting including stance, trigger control, sight picture and alignment.

Mental preparation and proper mindset.

Safe storage of firearms and ammunition, maintenance.

 

Concealed Weapons Training Initial (CCW)

 

Concealed Weapons Training (CCW)nice-shot-ccw-concealed-carry
Cost: $150
Course Length: 8-12 HRS
This training course provides a thorough interactive presentation consisting of 12 hours of instruction in a safe and fun environment. Students will participate throughout lessons that exceed the requirements for most counties in Northern California set forth for applicants prior to applying for their concealed weapons license through their local Sheriff or Police Department. The completion of the class itself does NOT guarantee the individual will receive their license.There is a shooting portion to the class. Students should be prepared to fire 20 rounds per firearm. Shooting Qualification is 16/20 minimum score within the 9 ring of a B-27 target at 7 yards for Shasta County and most other counties/cities.Classes are offered in a variety of time formats frequently in an effort to fit student’s schedules. We have 3 instructors to choose from.
Class covers: 

  • Ethical considerations.
  • Special safety considerations.
  • Selecting a Firearm for personal protection.
  • Selecting ammunition for personal protection.
  • Storing a handgun safely outside the home (lock boxes, etc…).
  • Styles and types of holsters.
  • The four levels of awareness.
  • Responsibility of carrying lethal force.
  • Safe Storing and transportation of guns in general as required by California law.
  • Mental preparation / proper mindset.
  • Avoiding life-threatening confrontations.
  • Psychological / physiological changes during an attack.
  • Controlling and responding to a violent encounter.
  • Emotional, legal, and social aftermath.

 

Concealed Weapons Renewal Training (CCWR)

Concealed Weapons Renewal Training (CCWR)

concealed-carry-thinkstock-v2

Cost: $75

Course Length: 4 Hours

 

This training course provides a thorough interactive presentation consisting of 4 hours of instruction in a safe and fun environment. Students will participate throughout lessons that exceed the requirements most counties in northern California set forth for applicants to renew their concealed weapons license through their local Sheriff or Police Department. The completion of the class itself does NOT guarantee the individual will receive their license.

There is a shooting portion to the class. Students should be prepared to fire 20 rounds per firearm. Shooting Qualification is 16/20 minimum score within the 9 ring of a B-27 target at 7 yards for Shasta County and most other counties/cities.

Classes are offered in a variety of time formats frequently in an effort to fit student’s schedules. We have 3 instructors to choose from.

 

 

Class covers:

  • Ethical considerations.
  • Special safety considerations.
  • • Selecting a Firearm for personal protection.
  • • Selecting ammunition for personal protection.
  • • Storing a handgun safely outside the home (lock boxes, etc…) .
  • • Styles and types of holsters.
  • The four levels of awareness.
  • Responsibility of carrying lethal force.
  • Safe Storing and transportation of guns in general as required by new California law
  • Mental preparation / proper mindset
  • Avoiding life-threatening confrontations.
  • Psychological / physiological changes during an attack.
  • Controlling and responding to a violent encounter.
  • Emotional, legal and social aftermath
Advanced Carry Concepts (ACC)

Advanced Carry Concepts

Course Cost: $150
Course Length: 8 hours (usually two evenings)

This class is designed to allow students to learn the skills, knowledge, and attitude they need in using their handgun for self defense. All use of force updates and legal requirements for CCW renewal course are also met. All instruction is based on tried and true techniques, presented in a safe and fun format in order to fulfill the needs of a diverse group of students. Limited to six students.

Required Items:

  • Functional handgun
  • Holster (Duty or CCW type)
  • At least 2 magazines or speed loaders
  • 200+ rounds of ammunition
  • Closed toe shoes (no sandals)
  • Clothing that doesn’t restrict movement

Course Topics:

  • Drawing from concealment
  • Point shooting
  • Combat accuracy
  • Weapon failures
  • Stop failures
  • Movement with a gun / shooting
  • Shooting with flashlights / lasers
  • Engaging multiple targets
  • Shooting from behind a barricade
  • Shooting in low light / darkness

Classes:

Classes are offered in a variety of time formats frequently in an effort to fit student’s schedules.

 

Gift certificates are available. Private classes for groups are available

 

Armed Guard - BSIS Exposed Firearm License

Armed Guard BSIS Exposed Firearm License

Initial Cost:  $180
Renewals: $75

Firearms Requirements for Security Guards, Alarm Agents, Private Investigators and Private Patrol Operators
A security guard’s registration card does not allow the security guard to carry a weapon; the security guard must also have a valid exposed firearm permit and/or a baton certificate. It is ILLEGAL to carry a firearm without a firearm permit and a valid security guard registration. It is ILLEGAL to carry a baton without a baton permit and a valid security guard registration. (Pg12 2011 BSIS Powers of Arrest Manual)
Note: It is illegal for a licensee or registrant to carry a CONCEALED weapon on duty without a permit issued by local authorities. Your BSIS firearms card must also have the caliber of your concealed weapon listed on it or it is not valid.

Filing an Application
To apply for a firearm permit, you must:

  • Take a 14-hour course (8 hours classroom, 6 hours range) in the carrying and use of firearms given by a Bureau- certified firearms training instructor at a Bureau certified training facility

  • Pass the written and range exams given at the end of the course

  • Be 18 years of age

  • Be a United States citizen or have permanent legal alien status; and

  • Submit a firearm permit application, submit a Live Scan form (which is appropriate to your license or registration) signed by the Live Scan site Operator.. Send your application package online at  https://www.breeze.ca.gov/

Classroom Training:

During your eight hours of classroom training, you will learn moral and legal aspects of firearms use, firearms nomenclature, weapons handling and shooting fundamental emergency procedures.

Range Training:

The six hours of range training will give you practice in safely handling and firing your weapon. You must requalify on the range twice a year before renewing your permit.

Training Schools:

Schools and training instructors must be certified by the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services. For a list of licensed training schools, call (800) 952-5210.

Renewals:

Firearm permits expire two years from the date of issuance. An applicant must requalify four times during the life of the permit: twice during the first year after the date of issuance, and twice during the second year with each caliber listed on the license. Requalifications must be at least four months apart. The application for renewal should be submitted to the Bureau within 60 days before the expiration date. You may not renew your permit once you have allowed it to expire. You must instead apply for a new permit.

Weapons Incidents:

A security guard who discharges a weapon while on duty (except on the range) must: (1) report the incident to his or her employer within 24 hours and (2) file a written report with the Director of the Department of Consumer Affairs, within 7 days. Failure to do so may result in a fine.

BSIS Impact Weapon Training (Baton)

BSIS Impact Weapon Training (Baton)

cop-holding-rod-and-handcuffs-v2

Cost: $200  (includes cost of license from BSIS)

The applicant must be 18 years of age and be in possession of a Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS) guard card or recently completed the basic security guard training. A BSIS Baton license is not valid if the security guard is not in possession of a valid security guard license.

The State of California mandates 8 hours of instruction on the following topics to obtain the license:

  • Moral and legal aspects of baton usage.

  • Use of force.

  • Baton familiarization and uses.

  • First aid for baton injuries.

  • Fundamentals of baton holding

  • Stances and grips.

  • Target areas.

  • Defensive techniques.

  • Control techniques.

  • Arrest and control techniques

A baton card is good for the life of the owner!

The possession of ONLY a security guard’s registration card (guard card) does not allow the security guard to carry a weapon; the security guard must also have a valid exposed firearm permit and/or a baton certificate. It is ILLEGAL to carry a firearm without a firearm permit and a valid security guard registration. It is ILLEGAL to carry a baton without a baton permit and a valid security guard registration. (Pg12 2011 BSIS Powers of Arrest Manual)

Retired Law Enforcement HR218 Qualifications

Retired Law Enforcement
HR218 Qualifications

gun-and-badge

Nice shot is authorized by a variety of Law Enforcement agencies to perform requalification for retired personnel. We currently perform them for the Los Angeles Police Dept, California Dept of Corrections and several others.

Scheduling:

We offer several different regularly scheduled qualification times throughout the month. If you require other arrangements, please feel free to contact a member of our range staff or one of our instructors who will be happy to set up another time with you.

Reserve Your Course

Register now, class sizes are limited.

Flexible Scheduling

Class times very for different schedules